Patriarchal Blessing, Bishop, Ward-love

Standard

I’m taking a brief break from “the story” to have a quick moment in the here and now. First, let it be known that I love my home ward. My brief venture into singles ward (woof) was a 3 hour twitch fest during which the only thing I could think about was how quickly I could get out of there. Conducive to letting the spirit teach me anything? Nope.

However, the fireside later that night was just absolutely amazing. Mind blowingly awesome. Brother M led a two hour discussion on the Bible dictionary definitions of “prayer” and “amen.” I hugged him after the fireside because of how powerful that conversation was. I’ll talk about that experience later.

So, back to the family ward. I love it there. I love the people, learn so much, think in different ways, love meeting with the bishop to just talk about stuff. Relief Society is productive and powerful. My visiting teachers are FABULOUS. The ward is so real and down to earth and so in love with the Gospel. I have met some amazing role models – people who have taught me to be a better person, families after whom I wish to raise my family. I just always (most of the time) feel the spirit so strongly. (I assure you, these are not words I ever thought I’d be using a year ago.)

I heard this song once that made me think about my experiences with this church and with re-embracing the gospel. Here, read on:

Give me rules, I will break them
Show me lines, I will cross them
I need more than a truth to believe
I need a truth that lives, moves, and breathes
To sweep me off my feet, it’s gotta be

More like falling in love than something to believe in
More like losing my heart than giving my allegiance
Caught up, called out, come take a look at me now
It’s like I’m falling, oh
It’s like I’m falling in love

Give me words, I’ll misuse them
Obligations, I’ll misplace them
‘Cause all religion ever made of me
Was just a sinner with a stone tied to my feet
It never set me free, it’s gotta be

Deeper and deeper
It was love that made me a believer
In more than a name, a faith, a creed
Falling in love with Jesus brought the change in me, it’s gotta be

Songwriter: Jason Gray

I met with the bishop this evening to talk about my patriarchal blessing and for a recommend. We talked for almost an hour about blessings, about the temple, about the gospel, about our lives. It was such a wonderful experience and I couldn’t help but feel just so happy. I left the church today feeling so happy, clean, fulfilled, motivated, and ready. I feel like this song really speaks to how I have come to understand my spiritual life experiences: I needed more than just something to believe in, something more than a creed. There is a feeling that I get when I study the scriptures or when engage in conversation with my religious mentors. It’s the feeling I had when I decided to be baptized. It was the same feeling I had when I was baptized. It’s the feeling I get every time I see the temple. Or the feeling when I realize (or re-realize, or realize again) how awesomely wonderful and true this is. I’ve absolutely lost my heart … “It was a love that made me a believer.”

And for the record, it’s the same feeling I got when I knew I was falling in love for the very first time 🙂

With so much love,

The Lady Mo

4 responses »

  1. Dang, LadyMo. Reading this is almost hard for me, because I can remember when I had these same feelings. It was so wonderful. And I feel so removed from that now. It’s like I just don’t have access to those feelings, I just don’t “get it”. I don’t really miss it, but reading these words of yours reminds me what it was like. It was nice. Maybe I do miss it. I’ll have to think about this.

Leave a Reply

