DISCUSSION! A Christmas Carol

Standard

It’s discussion time.

The other night, I watched “A Christmas Carol,” and this one part of the movie stood out as if it was on a flashing billboard in bright pink and glitter (if you ever need to get my attention, use pink and glitter). Somehow, I needed to pay attention to this.

“There are some upon this earth of yours who lay claim to know us, and who do their deeds of passion, pride, ill-will, hatred, envy, bigotry, and selfishness in our name, who are as strange to us and all out kith and kin, as if they had never lived. Remember that, and charge their doings on themselves, not us.” – A Christmas Carol, Charles Dickens

This is a lesson I wish learned a year ago. This is a reminder I am challenged to understand often.

It reminds me of Mosiah 15:13-18.  In the past year, I struggled with many things, for sure, and among them what and who a prophet is. I specifically appreciate verse 14:

And these are they who have published peace, who have brought good tidings of good, who have published salvation; and said unto Zion: Thy God reigneth!

This year, I have learned that good things are from our Heavenly Parents. Good tidings of good, peace, and salvation – that is the work of Jesus Christ. I have to remember that those who “do their deeds of passion, pride, ill-will, hatred, envy, bigotry, and selfishness” are not working to build up Zion. It was, and sometimes is, easy for me to blame Christians for these awful deeds. I can’t do that because then I become one of them.

While it is easy for me to slip back to that, Mosiah brings me right back and tells me to stop blaming God for things for which He is not responsible.

So, dear readers, it’s your turn. What do you think of this quote from “A Christmas Carol” ? What meaning does this have in your life?

So much love,

The LadyMo


Leave a Reply

