Choice and Accountability: A Testimony

Standard

As I reflect on my first trial run at the temple, I think about Elder Packer’s talk in which he talked about relying on the testimony of others and how much I have relied on the testimony of friends, missionaries, and members in my life. I also look back on the last year and see that I actually have matured in my own testimony, if only nominally. I think that I might have reached the point where, in some things, I can rely on my own testimony.

I hope to be able to strengthen mine to be able to support someone else, you know, if they ever might need me.

Dear readers, I need to share this with you so that I can be accountable to someone. One of my last conversations with Sister G was about spiritual growth and about moving forward in faith. She talked about setting goals. I try to set goals for myself: baptism, temple, prayer, etc, etc. I’ve overcome some pretty challenging obstacles, and I’ll tell you more of those stories later, but they all were accomplished because I set a goal and was accountable to someone else.

Here’s the deal. I’ve been wanting to consider getting up during a Fast and Testimony meeting but I always find a way to talk myself back down. This is where you come in. I need to be accountable to someone when I say: November, I am sharing my testimony. Out loud. In front of people. And I might even say “Amen” after it.

I’m putting my testimony to a test, I think. It’s easy to write here, especially in feigned anonymity (I mean, most of you already know who I am), but I think that to get up and say it in front of the entire ward will require a belief in the strength of my testimony. So, here it is resolved. At the next testimony meeting, I will listen to the promptings of the spirit to get up there and speak.

For now, I rely on Matthew 10:19-20

19But when they deliver you up, take no thought how or what ye shall speak: for it shall be given you in that same hour what ye shall speak.

20For it is not ye that speak, but the Spirit of your Father which speaketh in you.

We’ll see what happens.

Dear Readers: What spiritual goals have you set lately? How did you achieve them? What are you working on? Time to share with the rest of us!

So much love,

The LadyMo

3 responses »

  1. Hey Erin, wanna hear a funny story?

    The day after I posted this, a councilor in the Olathe Stake Presidency asked me if I would share my story at Stake Conference. In November.

    I maintain that God has a kickin’ sense of humor.

  2. You will do find with and giving your testimony. When you really think about it, our testimonies are none other than the “answering of God’s call on our lives.” Some have a page for one, and you and I have a book:>)

    Take the same strength from God that it took you to convert, that it takes you to write these blogs, and you will be fine. SR

Leave a Reply

