An Open Letter To My Sister

Standard

Dear Andy,

Do you know how much I adore and admire you? You are my best friend and I’m so grateful everyday that you picked me to be your sister.

Yesterday, you posted Ephesians 5:1-2 on Facebook. This came as a surprise to me, because a few months ago you told me that your religious philosophy was most closely aligned with Glee’s Kurt Hummell:

You can’t prove there isn’t a magic teapot floating around the dark side of the moon with a dwarf inside of it that reads romance novels and shoots lightning out of its boobs; but it seems pretty unlikely doesn’t it?

I giggled, because I also thought the same way for a really long time. You told me, using words that were very close and very familiar to me, that you a much better person without religion and you didn’t need God or to read the Bible to be a good person. It’s easier for us to believe this. But what I think is absolutely incredible is that even while you profess this belief, you acknowledge that you are a child of God and that Jesus Christ gave his life for us. In your own words, “Jesus is a pretty cool guy.”

You told me you were feeling confused. You’re going to a Bible study (wicked awesome!) and learning some fascinating new things. You are going to church, you are asking questions, and you are finding answers to your questions. You are asking questions and your heart is open for answers. When I was asking these same questions, I was only doing so to prove to everyone around me that I was right and they were wrong. You are exercising a kind of faith I wish I had when I started on this journey.

While you find your way around the Gospel, I am praying that you will find answers and peace. I had a lot of help to get here. I struggled, I fought, I cried, I threw temper tantrums. Ask questions and listen to answers. Listen to the testimony of the people around you. Does your heart tell you that what they are saying is true? Listen to that feeling.

You asked me how to know which church to join. You said, “There are so many denominations! How do I know which one is right?” I wanted to know that, too. Ask your Heavenly Father. He’ll tell you.

I want to share with you what I’ve learned about prayer. When we have problems we don’t know how to resolve, we call Mom and Dad. No matter what kind of trouble we get ourselves into, or no matter how desperate the situation seems, they somehow always have the answer. They always help us get ourselves back to normal. You know how Dad will post on Facebook that he misses us and wants to give us a hug? Prayer works the exact same way. Heavenly Father wants to hear your voice. He wants to know how your day was. He wants to answer your questions. It was really hard for me at first. I didn’t know how to trust Him. But by exercising a little bit of faith that He would pick up when I called, prayer became so much easier. You know how Dad always picks up the phone, even if he’s at work, out to dinner, on a business trip, or dead asleep in the middle of the night? You know how he will drive 14 hours to come get us if we break a knee, or flip a car over? I want you to know that Heavenly Father will always pick up the phone and He will always come get you.

Andy, you’re the coolest person I know. You have the greatest faith and trust in other people and their ideas. You trust your feelings and you’ve never compromised what you believe is right and good and true (except for that one time you changed your English report card from an F to a B. Tsk tsk).

You are starting your faith journey with confidence the simplest and most eternal truth: You are a child of God. You, my sweet little perogie, are amazing.

I love you so very much and I pray that you find comfort in the testimony of others while you find answers to your questions. I pray that you find peace in the answers you receive and I pray that you have faith enough in your Heavenly Father to ask Him when you’re struggling.

Listen to this.

With so much love,

Your Ninner.

2 responses »

  1. Theladymo, This is such a wonderful tribute from one sister to the other. Made me think of my sister and my brother, and all the wonderful things my parents have done for us as well. Good post. SR

Leave a Reply

