In the Spirit of Thanksgiving: Gratitude

Standard

Thanksgiving was amazing. Uh-May-Zing. I joined the Horspools, Johnsons, Flynns, and Morgans for a giant feast of giving thanks at the Horspool homedigs. The food was awesome, but the best part? These people are my family. This is where I am happy and this is where I am home. After Thanksgiving dinner with an amazing ward family, I went to my other family’s home (the Brovonts) for some Harry Potter snuggle viewing. Jennifer was home for the weekend, so we cuddled under blankets on the floor of the living room; her brother and his daughter snuggled on the couch; Brother and Sister Brovont cozied up in recliners. Not only was it the picture of a family, but it was the life of a family. I am so grateful that I have such amazing friends and family in this ward. I love ya a whole bunches, O3 🙂

It’s still Thanksgiving weekend, so I am going to wrap up the awesome with taking part in our ward’s gratitude challenge. Who else is in?

Here we go. For each category, this little slip of paper I got before sacrament meeting asks me to identify 10 things for which I am grateful.

Living people for whom you are grateful

  1. Mom/Dad/Jim
  2. Andrea
  3. Elder Cox
  4. Team Horspool (Natalie, Paul, Emilee, Alix, Riley, Maddie, not Gil)
  5. Team Johnson (Marie, Adam, Haley, Annie, Olivia, Eli)
  6. Team Hufford (Maren, Mark, Ethan, MaThew, Megan, Laney, Anna)
  7. Team Brovont (Kate, Charles, Jennifer)
  8. Maxine Cleere (and Justin)
  9. Savanna Greer (and Brian)
  10. Team Slocum (Scott, Cathy)

People who have died for whom you are grateful

  1. Nonni
  2. Grandma Eda
  3. Patrick Carney
  4. Corinne LaVerdiere
  5. Mary Wollstonecraft
  6. Rachel Beckwith
  7. Judy Garland
  8. Abbe Charles-Michel de l’Epee
  9. Martin Luther King, Jr.
  10. Jesus Christ

Physical abilities for which you are grateful

  1. Mobility
  2. Sight
  3. Communication (ASL, French, LSF)
  4. Ballet
  5. Driving (grateful for my physical and political ability to drive… although some may question the physical ability)
  6. Speech
  7. Flexibility
  8. Digestion
  9. Smiling
  10. Extraordinary ability to cast a patronus charm

Material possessions for which you are grateful

  1. Scripture quad
  2. Snookie, my green sweatshirt security blanket
  3. My house
  4. Brian Andreas framed art work
  5. Laptop
  6. Knitting needles
  7. TV and DVR
  8. Harry Potter books and movies
  9. Car
  10. Four inch mattress topper (I know, right?)

Things about nature for which you are grateful

  1. Leaves when the seasons change
  2. Summer
  3. Fall
  4. Spring
  5. Rain
  6. Smell of mud
  7. Bayview Beach
  8. Wasatch Mountains
  9. Food
  10. Cicadas (only the sound the make.. not their apparent graveyard in my mailbox)

Things about today for which you are grateful

  1. Friends, family, and the friends who have become family
  2. Church
  3. Priesthood blessings
  4. American Sign Language
  5. P-Day e-mails
  6. Awesome RS lesson
  7. Hot shower in which I will soon defrost
  8. My cats Toto and Elphaba
  9. Day off from work
  10. Liberal feminist bloggernacle

Places on earth for which you are grateful

  1. Bayview Beach
  2. Wasatch Mountains
  3. Palais Royale
  4. Paris, generally
  5. Fenway Park
  6. The Democratic Republic of Congo
  7. Marie and Natalie’s dining room tables
  8. Sylas and Maddy’s
  9. Cape Cod
  10. The temple

Modern-day inventions for which you are grateful

  1. Cars
  2. Internet
  3. Printing machine (hello, books!)
  4. Cell phones
  5. Google docs
  6. Heated blankets
  7. Birth control
  8. Just Dance 2 and 3 (JD1 kinda sucks)
  9. Videophones, Skype, OOVOO
  10. Patronus Charms

Foods for which you are grateful

  1. Auntie’s chicken
  2. Italian wedding soup
  3. Spinach pizza
  4. Sylas and Maddy’s ice cream
  5. Artichokes
  6. Avocados
  7. Seven-hour sauce
  8. KSD Free
  9. Pizelles
  10. Blessed: friends and family who feed me when I can’t afford to or don’t have time to feed myself

Things about the gospel for which you are grateful

  1. It’s for you, for me, for us, for everyone
  2. Gift of the Holy Ghost
  3. Personal revelation
  4. Prayer
  5. My patriarchal blessing
  6. It has the power to liberate
  7. Heavenly Mother lives and loves us (even if we don’t know a hair about Her)
  8. Psalm 139
  9. Zephaniah 3:14-20
  10. God is still speaking

So, dear readers, what’s on your list? Go ahead and post it in the comments!

So much love,

The LadyMo

2 responses »

  1. Just grateful for you at the moment. All your charm and funninest makes me smile. Thank you for being you all the time….I LOVE it.

  2. Oh my! Thank you for putting your full story here. I couldn’t stop reading! I was trying to be good and not spend all night on the internet (catching up on my favorite TV shows), but then I found your blog and I had to read it ALL. Okey, so I’m a slow reader. You inspire me to actively strenghthen my own testimony. I look forward to the next post.

    You are right: Natalie and Marie are awesome and Just Dance 2 & 3 are great.

Leave a Reply

