Temples and Trampolines Part 2: Trampolines

Standard

Let it be known that my “abs” are still on fiya from trampolining. It was either the best workout I’ve had in a long time or I’m painfully out of shape. I’m going with the painfully out of shape option. 

So, after our little ragtag group left the temple, we hopped, skipped, and jumped to HuHot where we partook of the Mongolian BBQ. Seated to the table next to us was the St. Louis mission’s president, his wife, and a few Elders. Seriously, the Mormons are everywhere! Lunch was delicious and hilarious, probably in a “you had to be there” kind of way. That being said, here are two sentences that were actually spoken:

“Mermaid boogers are flammable.”

“It’s not malice, it’s eyeliner.”

After lunch, we shared s’mores. Could our day get any better? Trampolines were soon in our future, so yes.

Now, I imagine many of you might have questions about this trampoline park. Imagine, if you will, a big room. Now imagine that room with trampolines instead of floors or walls. That is a trampoline park. On our way to the park, I had grandiose expectations of performing flawless backflips and jumping high into the heavens. I thought that my experience with ballet, swimming, and diving would render me graceful and elegant while challenging gravity. In reality, I’m a big wimp and really could only accomplish bouncing with limbs flailing, and occasionally bouncing on my butt back up to my feet (or a boomawar, as Kyrsten called it).

There was a foam pit there, too. It was fun to watch, but humiliating to actually do.  Unless of course you’re up for being bested by foam blocks. Seriously, you can’t get out of them! Josh and I both managed to eat it before we even got to the foam pit, so I chose to participate as a spectator. Dallin and Kyrsten, however, champs. Even when we ditched Dallin after he got buried in the foam.

For our last 15 minutes, we went back to the big trampoline thing and played 4-2 dodgeball with two random guys. Trampoline dodgeball requires an amount of body control and coordination that I just don’t have. All flailing limbs considered, it was unbelievably fun. And I get to go next week in Utah! Hoorraay!

Our ride home was wonderful. For all the “getting to know yous” on the way to St. Louis, the car was filled with the chatter and giggles of what felt like life long friends. We listened and laughed to Jim Gaffigan until Kyrsten’s phone died, rocked out to some MoTab Circle of Life, and shared our favorite hymns from Josh’s playlist. We talked about scriptures and worked together to understand the gospel more deeply. We munched on the most addictive Chex Mix, cuties, and something that calls itself a “flavored water beverage,” disguised as Capri Sun juice boxes.

We arrived back to Olathe and swooned over the awesomeness of the day. I was the last stop on the dropping people off route, and I had a wonderful time just sitting in front of my house talking with a great new friend.

After all of this awesome, when I got home I spent 2 hours Skyping with one of my best friends. It’s funny, because all of this is because he was brave and strong and patient enough to teach me why it was important. I had an amazing day because one day, almost two years ago, he wanted to teach me something.

I love this church. I love the friends I’ve made and the life I’ve found because of it. My days are richer, my adventures more meaningful, and my testimony stronger.

So much love,

The LadyMo

Leave a Reply

