Franklin, This is Your Last Warning

Standard

Hey world. I’m back in Boston for an indefinite period of time. I am hesitant to say I’m back “for good,” but I don’t see another move out of state on the immediate horizon. TJ’s driving my car, cat, and stuff across the country in a few weeks, and until then it will be  a whole lot of hanging around and reacquainting myself with the area and old friends.

Today, I went to see an OB/GYN in Milford who reminds me a lot of fMhLisa. If you’re going to have someone all up in your lady parts, she may as well be someone who reminds you of someone interesting, right? We went through the same song a dance of “Yes, you have a cyst growing on your ovary. Yes, there’s going to be a magnitude of suck if that puppy bursts. Yes, we know you’re in pain. No, there isn’t much we can do to make this pain go away. No, we’re not going to remove the ovaries of a 25 year old, no matter how much you beg and plead.” I’ve heard the story before, I’ve done everything they prescribed. Dr. Clough reassured me that, in fact, “there’s nothing I can do to cure this.”

Ugghh.

The plan right now, tentative as it may be, is to have this cyst removed and then start a hormone stabilizing/balancing/figuring out treatment with Depo-Provera, metformin, and a nutritionist. My experience with Depo usually involves some pretty serious weight gain and I couldn’t be less interested in battling that. So, if we’re going this route, then I’m also about to get pretty intimate with a nutritionist and a personal trainer.

First, I want to get through this cyst. I will figure out where to go after I deactivate the ticking time bomb sitting precariously on my ovary. Wednesday, I am having surgery at Milford Regional Hospital and then will spend a few days watching episodes of Bunheads, Pretty Little Liars, and Dance Moms.

**Franklin, your days are numbered. Consider this your eviction notice.

**I named this ovarian monster Franklin.

What frustrates me the most is how little control it feels I have over my body. On one hand, I can’t predict or plan for cysts. They grow and blow at their leisure, no matter what treatment or therapy I am doing to suppress them. It feels like the cysts own me. On the other hand, no doctor or parent is on board with my plea to have my ovaries removed. I can understand their desire to protect my reproductive future, but I don’t know that they understand what it means to have explosive ovaries.

Anyway.

My sister is coming to Boston in 10 days. I have not seen her in over two years and I can’t begin to explain the screams and squeals of glee the neighborhood will experience upon her arrival. I miss that girl so terribly much.

She also just started her own blog, hairSAY! You should go check her out and love on her the way you love me. Andy is a hairstylist/magician and brilliant in her art. A few years ago, she talked about writing a book about all the stories she heard from behind the chair. Her clients open up to her like a personal therapist and she has become a repository of incredible life stories. She’s venturing into the blogging world to share those gems with the rest of us. I’m so excited to watch this project grow. Also, if you want styling tips or have questions, go check out and go ask. Tell her I sent you. I’ll get a discount on my next service (wink).

I can’t wait to see my sister.

In other news, I’m living back with my momsie and she is now a vegetarian and eating a lot of raw food. Since I don’t have a job or the means to shop for my own food, it seems as if I will be, too. Tomorrow morning, I start back on my green smoothie diet (duh-lish) and will aggressively change my eating and take much better care of myself. Mom said she’d take ballet classes with me, and after this surgery, will be back in the pool swimming. I’ve battled my weight and health for too long. I’m ready to take control of the things I can and get my body back to a healthy and happy place.

I’m sleepy and sore, so I don’t have much more to share. I’ll keep you updated as the week progresses.

So much love,

The LadyMo

2 responses »

  1. ladymo, praying for you! (I hope that’s ok, even if I’m not mormon). Side note that may or may not be helpful: this year I (mid20s) told my family doctor I probably never wanted children and she said if I was 100% sure she could find me the right gynecologist. This is in a city, and she can recommend people at university teaching hospitals, also, it’s Canada, so that’s different. Praying that you find that doctor!

Leave a Reply

