Girls Just Wanna Have Fu-un

Standard

 

Dear readers, this won’t be a normal post. I wish I could tell just one grand story about my best friends, but really, I just want to post a bunch of pictures and tell you over and over how much I love them. I’ll come back for more storytelling another time. But for today, just a lot of love and pictures.

This weekend, Ashley got married and we celebrated a mini high school reunion at the same time. Really, it was like prom for 25-30 year olds. And it was awesome.

In high school, I spent most of my time with my five best friends: Danielle, Amy, Jamie, Ashley, and Christine.

Danielle

Amy

Jamie

Ashley

Christine

The six of us couldn’t be more different and given another time and place, I wonder if we would have found each other or would have been friends. I’m glad we are, because they are incredible women. We were the geeks and freaks (band, majorettes, mock trial, NHS) and really, they made smart wicked cool.

Senior Prom 2004

I have a list of One Times that keep popping in my head as I try to relive the last 13 years of my life with these women. Here are a few:

1. One time, we watched The OC for 20 hours straight.

2. One time, we went to see The Lizzy McGuire Movie after taking the SATs

3. A few times, there were stuffed shells.

4. One time, there was a New Year’s Eve party in Boston that every single one of us have opted to erase from our memories.

5. One time, we went to NYC.

6. Another time, half of us worked at summer camp together.

7. More than one time, we played football on Black Friday at the Commons.

8. We spent a lot of time in Ashley’s pool room, Claffey’s basement, and Danielle’s back yard.

Graduation 2004

These women are incredible. They have amazing experiences and stories and travels and adventures. We are scientists, sociologists, musicians, writers, knitters, bankers, event planners, and we’re going to change the world.

Summer Reunion (2005 I think?)

We’ve done a lot of stupid things together. Again, I refer you to 2006. Don’t ask, none of us will tell you. It’s safer that way.

Forest Henderson Concert (2006 or 2007)

We’ve been to concerts together. In fact, I think we’ve only ever been to see one band together, Forest Henderson, because the guys were our high school friends. Out side of Forest Henderson, none of us shared any musical interest. Not even a little bit.

Forest Henderson Concert (2006 or 2007)

I met these women in junior high school (uhm.. 1998?) but Amy, Christine, Ashley, and Danielle all went to South Elementary together. Jamie and I were the later additions. I wish I could remember clearly when and how we all met, but I think we all met in band. They will have to verify this for me, but as far as I am concerned, we’ve been best friends as long as I can remember.

We parted ways after high school and promised to keep in touch, like good best friends do. Amy went to UMass Amherst, Christine to UMass Lowell, Ashley to Boston University, Danielle to Worcester Polytechnic Institute, Jamie to Roger Williams University, and I skedattled to Elmira College in New York. Before the days of Facebook, we connected only occasionally throughout the year. We were making new friends and experiencing new things away from each other.

But then, when we came back together during holidays and summers, we lived like we were never apart.

Winter Reunion 2008

We managed to pick up where we left off the last time, like friends do. Like best friends do. And yes, this is me drinking a chocolate milk like a grown up. No wonder I get carded everywhere I go.

Winter Reunion 2008

I wish I had any cohesive narrative to write about my friends, but all I can say is that we make sense. We are six wildly different personalities with six amazingly different dreams. But we can’t get enough of each other. They are my girls. They are what is familiar to me. They are my go to for normal, even if that going to only happens once every five years.

2008

It’s a little weird being back in Massachusetts with my friends so nearby (Claffey, it’s now your turn to come home). Until Saturday, at Ashley’s wedding, I had not driven the roads to my friends’ homes in over five years. We found each other at the wedding a little bit older and with a little bit more time since the last time, but we found each other. We dropped everything and picked up what was familiar and comfortable. And it felt so good. And rocking out to Miley Cyrus and One Direction like a bunch of prom girls was wicked fun.

Christine leaves for Tennessee and Brittany leaves for Kansas 2008

Ashley, Danielle, Claffey, Amy, Jamie – we might not be the best at keeping in touch with each other throughout the mundane and regular scheduled lives, but we do an incredible job of finding each other and coming back to a place where we make sense and where life is easy and calm and familiar. I know you do that for me.

Ashley gets married! 2012

Ladies, I love you. You’re amazing and I can’t imagine my life without you. Thank you for being a friend 🙂 I look forward to more reunions and fun times and memory making. I am excited for that picture when we’re old and gray and still ashamed of 2006.

So much love,

The LadyMo

4 responses »

  1. I don’t know if it’s where we met but I know we became friends in Ms. Muscatel’s science class when we were supposed to be planting a garden in the courtyard and you know “learning” things.

Leave a Reply

