Here’s to Life, Here’s to Love, Here’s to You: Mary Margaret Grove

Standard

Mary,

No complaints and no regrets

I read Bonnie Biser’s post on Facebook yesterday and my heart broke into a billion little pieces. I just couldn’t … I can’t… believe you’re gone. You, Mary, are such a light. Everywhere you go, it’s like glitter and streamers follow you. 

MaryLove

I still believe in chasing dreams and placing bets

I was intrigued by you before I even met you. I watched you tell the world about your dreams to be a famous Hollywood actress and how someday you wanted to be a mom. This expressive girl, someone I only knew as the little girl from the Deaf Cultural Center movie, captivated me and I couldn’t wait to meet this little dreamer.

MaryDuckFace

And I have learned that all you give is all you get

Do you know how alive you are? Your friends, your families, your school, your communities. Whatever you did, you stole our hearts and our hearts grew stronger because of it. Know what I think is fascinating? PAH wasn’t how you died. PAH was how you lived.

marygrove

So give it all you’ve got

I know your heart was weak. I know your heart was strong, too. Captivating is an understatement. And if there was a word big enough to describe what you did to our hearts, I would use it right here. But there isn’t a word. That word doesn’t exist because you lived bigger than we can capture. You gave it all you had. You lived so big and so hard and so beautifully.

Mary Prom

I had my share, I drank my fill
And even though I’m satisfied, I’m hungry still

My short years at KSD were awesome. Life changing. I was never a student, and I didn’t grow up there like you did. But I know that while I was there, I felt like I was home. You were only four months from graduating, from moving away from your home. You were so excited for Gallaudet and to be with your friends who got there first. And to make new friends, like you always do. There is comfort, though, knowing that your entire life was spent at KSD. Your home.

MaryFriends

To see what’s down another road, beyond a hill
And do it all again

Your life was short. It was too short for us. But I know that the glitter and streamers you brought to us every day are worth every second again. Knowing we would lose you early, too early, we would still do it all again.

So here’s to life
And every joy it brings
Here’s to life
To dreamers and their dreams

mary alive
Funny how the time just flies
How love can go from warm hellos to sad goodbyes
And leave you with the memories you’ve memorized
To keep your winters warm

I will cherish our talks. Remember when we sat and chatted at sophomore prom? We talked about Gallaudet and what it’s like to go away to college. We talked about boys, and our friends, and Switched at Birth. I think we did more talking than dancing! We talked about Sue, and the DCC, and Marlee Matlin. We talked about Bonnie and Clyde. We talked about God and school and your heart condition. Remember at the car wash when we let everyone else do the work and we just sat and chatted? We talked and we were alive together. 

MaryMarlee
But there’s no yes in yesterday
And who knows what tomorrow brings, or takes away
As long as I’m still in the game, I want to play
For laughs, for life, for love

You know, Mary, it hurts that you’re not here. Your friends are struggling to understand this feeling. I’m struggling to wrap my head around the idea that this beautiful young woman, who is so full of life, isn’t here now. But, really, you are. You’re green and alive and Mary Margaret. I’m not in Kansas anymore, and I wish I could have been at KSD to see this big blue school wear green because of you. Your spirit, your heart, your love – it filled the blank spot. You were there in every body and in every soul.
MaryPurple
So here’s to life
And every joy it brings

Mary, you loved us so much. You loved KSD and your friends and your teachers. You loved your family and your community. You had the biggest heart. You were good to everyone. You believed in big dreams and in strong things. You were a dreamer and you lived big.

mmg

Here’s to life
To dreamers and their dreams
May all your storms be weathered
And all that’s good get better

Here’s to you, Mary. May you live forever because you loved us your whole life. May you find new comfort, peace, and strength. I pray you are with Sue, sitting and chatting and dancing. I pray that your friends and family live their dreams the way you lived yours. Here’s to you for being a light, a happy bright sparkly light, and for making our hearts strong.

Here’s to life
Here’s to love
And here’s to you

mary

May we find glitter and streamers everywhere and know that you are there.

13 responses »

  1. Beautiful. She sounds like a shooting star, glowing brilliant, and then gone, alas, but leaving a memory of her path across the sky and in your heart. You have said it so well.

  2. I WISH I COULD POST SOMETHING WONDERFUL LIKE YOURS , I AGREE THAT MARY IS AWESOME PERSON . WE WILL MISSED HER VERY MUCH . MICHELLE IS OK BUT INSIDE I KNOW SHE IS STILL NUMB AND HURT . WE MISS YOU BRITTANY TOO . HUGS SHERI PLUMMER

  3. I will always remember you, I mean we both like talking to each other and some days I’ve made your days and you have made mine… I will never forget you Mary… I love you so much. I wish I could see you again. but, we will when I go to heaven. I love you Mary.

  4. Brittany, thanks! You write so beautifully. Briella is devastated, but will gain strength and courage as the days go by. She felt good that 8 of the 10 pictures you posted here were taken either by her or with her camera 🙂 Mary was well loved and will not be forgotten,

    Minnie Mae

  5. What a beautiful and extremely touching tribute. I am positive that this made Mary Margaret smile her famous beautiful smile in the stars.

  6. What an amazingly BEAUTIFUL tribute to Mary Grove. You are truly talented. Your words are very touching. As a friend of the Grove family…I thank you!

  7. Well spoken about Mary! It says it all! I am so blessed to know Mary even though I never taught her. I just saw her around from time to time. I just love her sweet smile and presence. She will sorely be missed by many! Mary, may you rest God’s hands! You will never be forgotten by any of us!

  8. My daughter just met you at Academic Bowl in Salt Lake City this past weekend.. She just told me you have angel wings now. I can see here how much you love everyone and how much they love you! Our prayers are with your family and friends as they celebrate your life.

  9. What a beautiful tribute to such a wonderfully inspiring young lady! I remember when she was a little girl, full of energy and excitement. Your pictures and words describe what I envisioned her to grow up to be…. an amazing person full of life.

    A friend of the Grove family.

  10. I just meet you at academic bowl through briella Diaz and now I know we all will miss you deeply and your spirit will be among us

Leave a Reply

