An Open Letter to My Oldest Friend

Standard

We deserve a chance. We’ve been through a lot, and as it seems, we’ll continue to go through a lot. We’ve seen each other through some really great times, and like now, through some really ugly times. But somehow, we always made it through and back to each other. I hope, I pray. I pray that we’ll make it through this one, too.

I miss you. I miss us being best friends. I feel like we’ve missed out on the greatest parts of being 20-somethings because we forgot that we’re actually important to each other. We rocked the teenage years, but we’re wildly blowing these ones. But we still have time. I have faith that we’ll find each other again soon enough. I know that we’re not too far gone, and when we’re ready to figure it out, we’ll pick right back up. And maybe, just maybe, if we remember who we are in the first place, we could remember why we were ever best friends.

It’s been a while since I’ve told you, but you’re still important to me. You’re still an important part of my history and a part of who I am. We’ve been friends, or somehow part of each others’ lives, since we were 14 years old. You dislocated my knee about 23 times. We traveled to London to thumb wrestle and we visited each other in college. You came to my senior musical because you knew it was important to me. Thank you for driving to New York to see it.

I want you to know that I still believe we’re worth unlimited chances. I’m still here and I’m not going anywhere. I know it might be like this for a while, but I know that someday we’ll find each other and we’ll try again. We’ll go back to being us and we’ll go back to figuring out how to survive being 20-somethings the same way we figured out being teenagers.

We did it because we had each others’ back. We’ll do it again because we will again.

If I could tell you just one thing, friend, it’s that we’re okay. We’ll be okay. Whatever it is we’re going through at this very second, we’ll find a way to make it through because we have each others’ back. It might feel that we’ve both used up our last chances at being friends. We’ve stopped and go-ed (made that one up) a few million times. But the beautiful thing about us being friends is that there are unlimited chances. We’re going to keep screwing up, but there will never be a last chance for us to be best again.

You’re still my friend. I still call you my best friend. You always have been and you always will be.

I just want you to be happy and I just really want you to know that.

B

Leave a Reply

